The EU publishes its legislative priorities for 2018-19

On 14 December, the Estonian Prime Minister Jüri Ratas, the President of the Parliament, Antonio Tajani, and the President of the Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker signed a Joint Declaration setting out the EU’s priorities for 2018-19.

The Declaration sets out 31 new legislative proposals tabled by the Commission which will be given priority treatment by the Parliament and Council for adoption or substantial progress by the time of the European Parliament elections in 2019.

The Joint Declaration sets out seven priority areas:

  1. Better protecting the security of our citizens;
  2. Reforming and developing our migration policy in a spirit of responsibility and solidarity;
  3. Giving a new boost to jobs, growth and investment;
  4. Addressing the social dimension of the European Union;
  5. Delivering on our commitment to implement a connected Digital Single Market;
  6. Delivering on our objective of an ambitious Energy Union and a forward looking climate change policy; and
  7. Further developing the democratic legitimacy at EU level.

In particular for the social dimension, the European Union has agreed to work on improving the coordination of social security systems, to protect workers from health risks in the workplace, to ensure fair treatment for all in our labour markets through modernised rules on posting of workers, and to improve cross-border enforcement.

In addition to these 7 areas, the three Presidents agreed to pursue the commitment to common European values, democracy and the rule of law; pursue a robust, open and fair trade policy; tackle tax fraud, tax evasion and tax avoidance; ensure social protection and social rights as set out in the Pillar of Social Rights; contribute to stability, security and peace; and ensure a high level of data protection, digital rights and ethical standards in artificial intelligence and robotics.

More information on the European Commission’s website

Related news

Skip to content